Thursday, July 10, 2008

Mommy got a bubblebutt; Debbie Dowd's birthday

This past weekend, 4th of July wekend, we went camping at Raccoon State Park with Jordan in tow. We tookhis tricycle and his ride on Fisher Price truck. He learned how to pedal (for the most part) his tricycle! It was great!
We arrived at our camping spot Thursday afternoon and it was raining a bit. It was dry all the way out and when we turned off the main road to head into the park, the raindrops started. If it could have held off for just 45 more minutes, we could have gotten camp set up. At least outside. So, dean ended up doing the initial part of it in the rain. The leveling of the camper, putting down the stabilizing jacks, unhitching it from the truck, with me holding the umbrella over us both. Then the rain stopped for a while and he was able to do the other stuff. Move the picnic table, put the awning down, and get the lawn chairs and that stuff set up.
It raind off and on the rest of day, as it did Friday the 4th. So, Jordan, Dean and I made the best of by staying in the camper watching CARS the movie, playing with Jordan, or staying outside under the awning. If the rain quit, Jordan rode his bike or truck, or played with his RC truck. Mainly Dean and I played with it and Jordan chased it and fixed it when it got stuck on a stone or uneven pavement, or went into the grass. Later in the day, we sat around the camp fire. It was very relaxing and Jordan had a blast. For some reason, the song Big Ol' Butt came up and Dean sang it. Well, Jordie, being 2 and a half, repeats most of what you say. I didn't want him to go home saying that, so I had him change it to Mommy got a bubblebutt! We knew we'd proabably hear from Sara about it, but haven't as yet.
Saturday, we went to the Country Restaurant for breakfast, then to the dollar store and Shop N Save. We stopped at the country store on our way back to camp. When we got to camp, some friends of ours, Nick and Virg, came up behind us on Nick's motorcycle for a surprise visit! It was nice. When they left, the 3 of us took a nap, got up and had dinner and went to the races. Jordie had a great time! I took him down on the track for the driver autograph session and he just thought he was the big cheese. Our friends that race made a big fuss over him.
He kept saying about the fireworks, but I ended up taking him out to the truck with 2 races still left cause he was sooooo tired. I put his jammies on and put him in his car seat and he was out in no time flat. He slept right through the fireworks!
Sunday, we packed up and came home, stopping for breakfast after taking the camper back to it's place, then we took Jordie home. We came home and unpacked and Monday was back to the old grind.
_________________________________________
7-11. No, not the convenience store chain. The date. Tomorrow is 7-11 and it's Debbie Dowd's birthday. Who is Debbie Dowd? She was a cute little blonde girl who had a brother named Timmy and their mom's name was Carol. Carol had a boyfriend or fiance named Dean who was a UPS driver. They all lived next door to my sister when she lived in Prospect Park. I spent all the weekends during the school year, and the entire summers at my sister's. I would baby sit her kids on the weekends, and in the summer, I just liked being there because A. I was away from my mother and B. There we soooo many kids in her neighborhood! Anyway, I have just always remembered that 7-11 was Debbie Dowd's bithday. I think she is about 9 months older than my oldest nephew, Dave, of Just popped in my head fame. Or DaveinArk as he is also known. So, I think her actual birthday is 7-11-67. I think I remember cause it rhymed. Like those little poems you leaned in school to help you remember stuff? In 1492 Christopher Columbus sailed the ocean blue. Those types of things. I am sure she is married or something by now and her last name is no longer Dowd, but where ever you are, Debbie, Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, July 1, 2008

Busy, Busy; Soggy and no racing

Well, no I haven't fallen off the face of the earth. I am here, safe and sound. I had been busygetting ready for our racing/camping weekend this past weekend and with all the lists to be made and laundry and ironing to do, and plans being made, I just didn't have time to post.
Some might wonder about the safe. We have had rain for 16 out of 30 days in June. The storms this past weekend were brutal. We even had a tornado warning here in West Mifflin on Sunday!

We left to go to Lernerville Speedway on Thursday afternoon. Dean came to my work and we loaded up the camper, hooked up and were on the road shortly after 3:30. About an hour later we were at the track and found our camping spot and set up camp. Then the rain came. Then it cleared up. Friday it rained. Then it cleared up. We got some racing in on Friday nite.

Saturday, it rained and rained and rained. Bad lightning and thunder. A tree fell over in the field where people were parked right across the road from where we camped. It rained and rained and rained. If you go to Youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzZPVoBI5z4 and see what the drunken idiots did to entertain themselves since there was no racing. It was very, very soggy. And in my own defense, I did not partake nor shoot the video. We found it on one of the racing message boards we visit.
They were going to try and get the race in on Sunday, but Mother Nature just would not cooperate. We packed up camp and camehome to beautiful blue skies with Simpson clouds, but that didn't last long. The sky got very dark and the wind got fierce and the annoying beeping came over the the TV to tell you to tune to channel 20. Channel 20 announced that thre was a tornado warning for our area and persons living in mobile homes should seek shelter elsewhere. We were invited to go to our neighbor's sister's house, but it was not needed after all.

Yesterday was back to theold grind, but it is yet another short week for we are closing the office at noon on Thursday to start the holiday weekend. Dean and I are taking Jordan and going camping at Raccoon Creek State Park in Beaver County. Hopefully, this weekend's weather will be better than last. We want to take Jordie to the lake to swim and play, to the playground and to the races on Saturday nite! We are going to take his tricycle and the ride on truck that Aunt Dar got him for his birthday, so he will have alot of fun. Weather permitting. Keep your fingers crossed. I'll let you know how it was next week!

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

MARCO!

POLO!





MARCO!









POLO!





No, I'm not in the pool playing that goofy "find me by the sound" game. I am referring to the new Nissan Rogue commercial where the guy and the girl are driving all over the city trying to find one another and using there in car Bluetooth or whatever it is to yell Marco and Polo and by the background noises, she finds him and tags him it.





Now, this is a ridiculous commercial considering that gas is 4 bucks a gallon. Even if th car gets great gas mileage, you are not going to waste it playing the Marco Polo tag game while driving all over town!

Stupid.

Thursday, June 12, 2008

Monster Jam

Have you heard of this? No, Frankenstein, Mummy and Werewolf haven't formed a heavy metal band........
Do you have Channel? Monster Jam is a show where Monster Trucks and Cars race each other or do Freestyle Competition. It's on everyday at 5 p.m., EDT. The racing is boring, but the Freestyle can be awesome! They jump over various objects like campers, busses, cars, dirt hills, and stuff like that. They pick 3 people in the audience to be the judges, and they have cards they hold up that range from 1 - 10 to score the vehicle's performance. They have to perform for 90 seconds and fill the clock, otherwise there are point deductions if they wreck too bad that they can't continue before the time is out. With those big ol' tires, they can get a lot of bounce, and if the approach an obstacle right, they can make those things fly! I'm talkin' huge air! The vehicles get broken from bad landings, they get rolled over, they do "donuts" or "cyclones", they do wheel stands, some of the things these drivers can do with these things is incredible!
And the body styles are crazy! There's Gravedigger, whose body looks like an old fashioned herse but it's green and black with red headlights, there's TAZ, and yep, it's the Tazmanian Devil from the Bugs Bunny cartoon, there's Superman with the cape and all, Monster Mutt, of course, looks like a dog, a '55 Chevy, and Blue Thunder; a Ford that has Blue Lightning bolts all over it. I love watching these guys. There's even a huge championship competition in Vegas every year! And to think it all started with Bigfoot. No, not Sasquatch. A blue Ford pickup that someone put huge tires on and an extreme lift kit. What it has evolved into today...............

Tuesday, June 10, 2008

REAL Road Rage

Do they do this where you live? Oil and chip the roads? Well, they have done it to several roads in our area and it seems like they just don't want me to have a way to get home! First, they did Thompson Run Road. That's the road that comes off of Buttermilk Hollow and past the old Woodlawn drive in to Homestead Duquesne Road. And they did half the road one day and the other half the next. Except, that the day they did the first half, we had a torrential downpour, probably right after they finished, so all the chips are gone and it has left an oily mess! When you drive on it, it sounds like you have a flat tire or something! So, I quit coming home that way.
My alternate route was to come out Lebanon Church Road Extension, past Mr. Hoagie and what used to be the Airways lounge, and hang the left onto Bettis Road. Well, the chipped that road too and the same thing happened. So, the side coming home is all oily and no chips! It's weird how that happened on the same side of both roads!
Yesterday, I had to go to Giant Eagle after Dean was done at the chiropractor and we had gone out to dinner. He takes the "T" from town and gets the truck from my work, goes to the chiropractor, then comes back and gets me. Anyhoo, we went to Armstrong's for dinner last night. Yum-O! We both had linguine with clam sauce. His was red sauce with scallops, mine was white with shrimp. We each ahd really nice salads and lots o' bread! We left there and drove to where Dean parks the car in the morning to get the bus, and they I proceeded to the Giant Eagle. Well, they have oiled and chipped Commonwealth Avenue too! This the road that goes from Homestead Duquesne road, past what used to be Duquesne Golf Club, and towards West Mifflin High and Kennywood. The side of the road that I was traveling had the chips washed away as well. Is there a conspiracy here or something? Don't the people that order this done know what it does to your vehicle. The chips can chip your paint when they fly up and the oil just makes a mess when it splashes up.....................Jeesh!!!!

Thursday, June 5, 2008

Pens lose in game 6

'NUFF SAID.

I do want to say that the Wings deserved to win the. They were great opponents and fought very hard for the prize. They skated well, passed well and even fought well.
This a pic of their first period goal.



And then there was this. The game winning goal scored by Fleury's ass for Detroit. Yep. The puck went between his knees and stopped behind him outside the goal line and he didn't know where it was. Went he sat back, he sat on the edge of the puck and his ass forced the puck into the net.
What a bummer. (get it? bummer. heh heh)



And the final horn sounds ending the game, and Detroit is victorious. Gino (Evgeni) Malkin hangs his head after a disappointing loss.
But there is no need for the Pens to hang their heads. They played a hell of a season and a real hell of a playoff package! We fans commend their efforts.



Our Pens are young. Most players are under 25 years old. Alot of them aren't even old enough to drink yet. Our older players? Around 30 years old or so. So it's a very young team. They have gotten something that money can't buy. Experience. They'll be back next season and will apply the lessons they have learned in these playoffs. There can only be one winner, but in the hearts of the Pittsburgh fans, the Pens are winners.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Pens Win Game 5 in Detroit!!!!!

Last night, the Pens played a hell of a game. Marc Andre Fleury was phenominal! Yes, he "allowed" 3 goals by Detroit, but, that stat doesn't tell you how incredible he was during the game. He stopped over 50 shots. I think t he actual number was 58 shots on goal for Detoit, with 3 scoring. The Pens had about half (32)that many with 4 scoring. Can you say more effective shooting?
The Pens started out winning in t he 1st 2-0. The Wings came back and tied it. Then they went ahead 3-2. With 30+ seconds left in the 3rd period, Max Talbot stuffed one in the net to tie the score. Here we go to overtime! And a second overtime! Fleury was incredible in these two OT periods! Then, we go into the 3rd OT period. They are skating like sharks on a feeding frenzy! Then Wham! Rob Scuderi get caught in the face by one of Wings' sticks. He was later interviewed and said he prayed there was blood. There was. And lots of it! the Wings had to serve a 4 minute minor for the incident. With the Pens being composed, it seemed, they were patient and just pounded the Wings' end of the ice. In a beatifully set up play, Petr Sykora dumps the puck in the net for the win! It was a great game, bu I wish we could score 5 goals and then let Fleury play like he did last night! He was so awesome. But they all were. Gonshar took a nasty header into the boards and it really rung his bell. Ryan (Bugsy) Malone took a puck to the face that was a line drive of a shot from Detroit and it sent him into next week. And broke his nose again. 2 broken noses on the same player in the same playoff series! Imagine! Then Scuderi got his chin and upper lip cut. They looked liked they were on the wrong end of a boxing match instead of playing hockey. Phenominal Hockey.
So, we come back to the Burgh for game 6. We need to win this one. Then another win in Detroit will get the cup to Pittsburgh. One game at a time.................LET'S GO PENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!